Take the "Test your Knowledge" Quiz & Be Entered to Win a $25 Gift Card
The Social Host Law FAQs
Remember: A Social Host is anyone (adult or minor) who is in control of the premises and who furnishes alcohol or allows it to be consumed on those premises.
Frequently Asked Questions
Am I breaking the law if I allow my child’s underage guests to consume alcohol in my home?
Yes. The legal drinking age in Massachusetts is 21. It is against the law to serve or provide alcohol to underage guests or to allow them to drink alcohol in your home or on other property you control. If you do, you may be prosecuted criminally. The penalty is a fine of up to $2,000, imprisonment for up to a year, or both. M.G.L. c.138, s. 34.
Can I be sued if my child or an underage guest at my home drinks alcohol and injures someone?
What if my child allows underage guests to drink or possess alcohol at my home or other property I control, without my knowledge?
Does the Social Host Law apply to marijuana in Massachusetts?
“Whoever makes a sale or delivery of marijuana, marijuana products, or marijuana
accessories, to any person under 21 years of age, either for his own use or for the use of his parent or any other person, or whoever furnishes any such marijuana, marijuana products, or marijuana accessories, for a person under 21 years of age shall be punished by a fine of not more than $2,000 or by imprisonment for not more than one year or both. For the purpose of this section the word “furnish” shall mean to knowingly or intentionally supply, give, or provide to or allow a person under 21 years of age except for the children and grandchildren of the person being charged to possess marijuana, marijuana products, or marijuana accessories on premises or property owned or controlled by the person charged.”